C22.9: Malignant neoplasm of liver, not specified as primary or secondary
C22.9, malignant neoplasm of liver, not specified as primary or secondary, is listed as a covered diagnosis in 13 Medicare billing and coding articles that apply to 76 HCPCS Level II codes, including G0340 (Image-guided robotic linear accelerator-based stereotactic…), G0339 (Image-guided robotic linear accelerator-based stereotactic…), G0278 (Iliac and/or femoral artery angiography, non-selective…). 4 of these codes have a 2026 DMEPOS fee schedule amount; E0783 pays $9,917.33 to $11,667.45 (NU) depending on the state. The articles come from 5 Medicare contractors. A listed diagnosis supports medical necessity only; coverage still depends on the LCD's criteria and on documentation in the medical record.
HCPCS Level II codes with C22.9 as a covered diagnosis
| Code | Description | Medicare coverage | DMEPOS fee 2026 (state range) | Articles listing it |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| G0340 | Image-guided robotic linear accelerator-based stereotactic radiosurgery, delivery including collimator changes and custom plugging, fractionated treatment, all lesions, per session, second through fifth sessions, maximum five sessions per course of treatment | Carrier judgment | — | 2 |
| G0339 | Image-guided robotic linear accelerator-based stereotactic radiosurgery, complete course of therapy in one session or first session of fractionated treatment | Carrier judgment | — | 2 |
| G0278 | Iliac and/or femoral artery angiography, non-selective, bilateral or ipsilateral to catheter insertion, performed at the same time as cardiac catheterization and/or coronary angiography, includes positioning or placement of the catheter in the distal aorta or ipsilateral femoral or iliac artery, injection of dye, production of permanent images, and radiologic supervision and interpretation (list separately in addition to primary procedure) | Carrier judgment | — | 2 |
| J0881 | Injection, darbepoetin alfa, 1 microgram (non-esrd use) | Special coverage instructions apply | — | 3 |
| J0885 | Injection, epoetin alfa, (for non-esrd use), 1000 units | Special coverage instructions apply | — | 3 |
| Q5106 | Injection, epoetin alfa-epbx, biosimilar, (retacrit) (for non-esrd use), 1000 units | Special coverage instructions apply | — | 3 |
| J0882 | Injection, darbepoetin alfa, 1 microgram (for esrd on dialysis) | Special coverage instructions apply | — | 3 |
| Q5105 | Injection, epoetin alfa-epbx, biosimilar, (retacrit) (for esrd on dialysis), 100 units | Special coverage instructions apply | — | 3 |
| J0890 | Injection, peginesatide, 0.1 mg (for esrd on dialysis) | Carrier judgment | — | 3 |
| Q4081 | Injection, epoetin alfa, 100 units (for esrd on dialysis) | Special coverage instructions apply | — | 3 |
| G0563 | Stereotactic body radiation therapy, treatment delivery, per fraction to 1 or more lesions, including image guidance and real-time positron emissions-based delivery adjustments to 1 or more lesions, entire course not to exceed 5 fractions | Carrier judgment | — | 1 |
| J0888 | Injection, epoetin beta, 1 microgram, (for non esrd use) | Special coverage instructions apply | — | 2 |
| J0887 | Injection, epoetin beta, 1 microgram, (for esrd on dialysis) | Special coverage instructions apply | — | 2 |
| Q0512 | Pharmacy supply fee for oral anti-cancer, oral anti-emetic or immunosuppressive drug(s); for a subsequent prescription in a 30-day period | Special coverage instructions apply | — | 2 |
| Q0511 | Pharmacy supply fee for oral anti-cancer, oral anti-emetic or immunosuppressive drug(s); for the first prescription in a 30-day period | Special coverage instructions apply | — | 2 |
| Q5129 | Injection, bevacizumab-adcd (vegzelma), biosimilar, 10 mg | Carrier judgment | — | 1 |
| Q5126 | Injection, bevacizumab-maly, biosimilar, (alymsys), 10 mg | Carrier judgment | — | 1 |
| Q5118 | Injection, bevacizumab-bvzr, biosimilar, (zirabev), 10 mg | Carrier judgment | — | 1 |
| Q5107 | Injection, bevacizumab-awwb, biosimilar, (mvasi), 10 mg | Special coverage instructions apply | — | 1 |
| J9035 | Injection, bevacizumab, 10 mg | Carrier judgment | — | 1 |
| J3590 | Unclassified biologics | Carrier judgment | — | 1 |
| C9257 | Injection, bevacizumab, 0.25 mg | Special coverage instructions apply | — | 1 |
| Q5160 | Injection, bevacizumab-nwgd (jobevne), biosimilar, 10 mg | Carrier judgment | — | 1 |
| J0461 | Injection, atropine sulfate, 0.01 mg | Special coverage instructions apply | — | 1 |
| J0153 | Injection, adenosine, 1 mg (not to be used to report any adenosine phosphate compounds) | Special coverage instructions apply | — | 1 |
51 more codes are listed. See every code with payment by region in Caduvo.
Medicare policy articles listing C22.9
- A56874: Billing and Coding: Stereotactic Radiation Therapy: Stereotactic Radiosurgery (SRS) and Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy (SBRT) (Wellpoint Federal (MAC - Part A, MAC - Part B); 3 Level II codes). LCD with the same title: L35076
- A56682: Billing and Coding: Diagnostic Abdominal Aortography and Renal Angiography (Novitas Solutions, Inc. (MAC - Part A, MAC - Part B); 1 Level II codes). LCD with the same title: L35092
- A52370: Billing and Coding: Bevacizumab and biosimilars (Wellpoint Federal (MAC - Part A, MAC - Part B); 8 Level II codes)
- A59350: Billing and Coding: Radiation Therapies (Palmetto GBA (MAC - Part A, MAC - Part B); 2 Level II codes). LCD with the same title: L39553
- A58982: Billing and Coding: Erythropoiesis Stimulating Agents (Palmetto GBA (MAC - Part A, MAC - Part B); 9 Level II codes). LCD with the same title: L39237
- A54768: Billing and Coding: Cardiac Blood Pool Imaging (Multiple Gated Acquisition Scanning- MUGA, Ventriculography) When Performed in Conjunction with Cardiotoxic Chemotherapy (Palmetto GBA (MAC - Part A, MAC - Part B); 5 Level II codes)
- A52479: Oral Anticancer Drugs - Policy Article (CGS Administrators, LLC (DME MAC) Noridian Healthcare Solutions, LLC (DME MAC); 8 Level II codes). LCD with the same title: L33826
- A56462: Billing and Coding: Erythropoiesis Stimulating Agents (ESA) (CGS Administrators, LLC (MAC - Part A, MAC - Part B); 7 Level II codes). LCD with the same title: L34356
- A56748: Billing and Coding: White Cell Colony Stimulating Factors (Palmetto GBA (MAC - Part A, MAC - Part B); 16 Level II codes). LCD with the same title: L37176
- A52480: Oral Antiemetic Drugs (Replacement for Intravenous Antiemetics) - Policy Article (CGS Administrators, LLC (DME MAC) Noridian Healthcare Solutions, LLC (DME MAC); 19 Level II codes). LCD with the same title: L33827
- A60381: Billing and Coding: Erythropoiesis Stimulating Agents (Wellpoint Federal (MAC - Part A, MAC - Part B); 9 Level II codes). LCD with the same title: L39237
- A57056: Billing and Coding: Aortography and Peripheral Angiography (First Coast Service Options, Inc. (MAC - Part A, MAC - Part B); 1 Level II codes). LCD with the same title: L36767
- A56695: Billing and Coding: Implantable Infusion Pump (Palmetto GBA (MAC - Part B); 9 Level II codes). LCD with the same title: L33461
A diagnosis listed as covered in a billing and coding article supports medical necessity for the article's codes; it does not guarantee payment. Coverage depends on the LCD's criteria, the contractor's jurisdiction and documentation in the medical record.
Other C22 diagnoses (Malignant neoplasm of liver and intrahepatic bile ducts)
- C22.0 — Liver cell carcinoma
- C22.1 — Intrahepatic bile duct carcinoma
- C22.2 — Hepatoblastoma
- C22.3 — Angiosarcoma of liver
- C22.4 — Other sarcomas of liver
- C22.7 — Other specified carcinomas of liver
- C22.8 — Malignant neoplasm of liver, primary, unspecified as to type
Frequently asked questions
Does Medicare cover C22.9 (Malignant neoplasm of liver, not specified as primary or…)?
Medicare covers items and services, not diagnoses. 13 Medicare billing and coding articles list C22.9 as a covered diagnosis for 76 HCPCS Level II codes: the diagnosis can support medical necessity for those codes, but payment still depends on the LCD's coverage criteria and the medical record.
Which HCPCS codes can be billed with ICD-10 C22.9?
The Level II codes from the policies most specific to this diagnosis are G0340 (Image-guided robotic linear accelerator-based stereotactic…, 2 articles); G0339 (Image-guided robotic linear accelerator-based stereotactic…, 2 articles); G0278 (Iliac and/or femoral artery angiography, non-selective…, 2 articles); J0881 (Injection, darbepoetin alfa, 1 microgram (non-esrd use), 3 articles); J0885 (Injection, epoetin alfa, (for non-esrd use), 1000 units, 3 articles). Code choice depends on the item supplied; check each code's descriptor.
What does Medicare pay for equipment billed with C22.9?
Under the 2026 DMEPOS fee schedule (non-rural state fees): E0783 $9,917.33 to $11,667.45 (NU); E0786 $10,969.75 to $11,380.88 (NU); E0782 $5,200.92 to $6,118.73 (NU); E0785 $572.38 to $673.39 (KF). Medicare pays 80% of the allowed amount after the Part B deductible.
Which Medicare policy articles list C22.9?
A56874 (Billing and Coding: Stereotactic Radiation Therapy: Stereotactic Radiosurgery (SRS) and Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy (SBRT)); A56682 (Billing and Coding: Diagnostic Abdominal Aortography and Renal Angiography); A52370 (Billing and Coding: Bevacizumab and biosimilars), and 10 more articles.
What is ICD-10-CM code C22.9?
C22.9 is the ICD-10-CM code for malignant neoplasm of liver, not specified as primary or secondary, in category C22 (Malignant neoplasm of liver and intrahepatic bile ducts), chapter 2: Neoplasms.
Next steps
- Run a reimbursement report for a device billed under G0340
- Watch G0340 for fee, coverage and descriptor changes
- Build a full Medicare revenue model for G0340
Sources: CMS Medicare Coverage Database billing and coding articles (covered ICD-10 code lists and HCPCS links); ICD-10-CM FY2026; CMS HCPCS Level II release October 2026; CMS DMEPOS fee schedule 2026 (non-rural state fees). Not billing or legal advice.